Important-ish facts?

 

I’m 21,

I love my little brother,

I always write in first person;

I’m 5 feet 7 inches full of insecurity, I’ve always felt huge until I met a 5 footed 11 inched epitome of grace and poise;

Since then, I’ve been feeling too small.

I fall in love too easily, I don’t fall out of it;

I pretend to not like love poetry.

I walk with darkness dripping from my shoulders, you’ll see ghosts brighter than my soul.

I hate my body, so much I turn all the mirrors around. I wish I had the discipline of an anorexic but I feel a lot;

And by feel I mean eat.

I have a driver’s licence but I don’t know how to drive,

My faith in God died with my grandpa.

I’m the daughter of a man who believes a woman’s place

Is in the kitchen,

My mother is a victim, she chooses to be.

Like every girl on the planet, I hate shaving my legs,

I only paint the nails of my left hand because that’s convenient,

I make bad decisions.

I write a lot of suicide notes, never committing one;

I have too many fears,

I don’t want to end up in a psych ward.

I avoid social events unless I have company,

Somedays I skip brushing my teeth at night,

Some mornings, I have breakfast before I brush my teeth because I just brushed last night.

I find shampoo to be a funny word.

I have 32 teeth, my mom is 45 and has 29;

I take pride in the fact.

A lot of my poetry is a reflection of what I read,

I love collecting postcards,

I’m desperate to be understood.

I like to think I have pretty hands. I tell people that people tell me I have pretty hands;

I don’t tell them that by people I mean my grandma.

My grandma told me, “You are raised to be a good girl.”

I try hard to contain the rebel inside me,

I try hard to hide my blood smeared knuckles.

I like to believe, “Gender is something you choose to identify yourself with.”

I call myself a feminist and by that I mean I believe in equal rights for all.

I go to movies for popcorn,

I am my villain,

I am my hero.

Author:

I've been writing poetry since I was a kid and my poetry is without fail a description of things that matter, to me. I pretend to not like love poetry. I have an insane love for popcorn!

Leave a Reply

